Problems I had with dictionary

Regie

Problems I had with dictionary

Post by Regie »

I finally made it to the forum. :)

It came to the point that I had so much trouble that I just took it off as best I remember. The first problem I had was unzipping it and knowing just where to put it in some folder so it would work with TextAloud. I have version 4 now.

Before I got rid of it, as best I recall (remember I am new at this thing - not exactly a green-horn, but close to one) when I would go to my TextAloud dictionary, I would have 2 copies of the same "My dictionary" - however I notice I still have 2 copies of it, plus I have another one now named "Microsoft David" which is the one that kept one of my two last changes for the word "Shulamite" - so I would like to get rid of the other two which are practically the same as "Microsoft David" and make a separate dictionary for the other voices I have, although I think the dictionary for "Microsoft Zira" will be about the same as the pronunciation for David. The other two voices I have are "AT&T Crystal" and "AT&T Mike" - I have had very little success with Mike. For my work lately I am interested in male voices in most places. I would like to get the British Peter voice but just cannot afford it now or probably for a long time.

I read the text files that came with my purchase but I am not sure I put the RC Dictionary in the right place and right now I do not remember exactly where I put it. It was in some "App Data" folder as best I remember. Maybe if you can direct me to the exact spot and get me on the right path as to these multiple dictionary problems, I can try it again.

Do you remember if I have answered all that you asked?

Thanks,
Regie
Percy Henry
Site Admin

Re: Problems I had with dictionary

Post by Percy Henry »

Hi Regie,

You should open the Pronunciation Dictionary Maintenance (PDM) to see which dictionaries are located there.